FAQ   Search   Memberlist   Usergroups   Statistics   Register 
 Profile   Log in to check your private messages   Log in 

Java Model Reverse Engineering

 
       forum-omondo.com Forum Index -> Eclipse Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
fahman_dude



Joined: 28 Feb 2004
Posts: 2

Posted: Sat Feb 28, 2004 8:55 pm    Post subject: Java Model Reverse Engineering

Hi, first of all - your project just KICKS ASSS!!!! And I don't mean any conventional ass, rather I mean ass of guys like Rational or, with the latest features, Borland and their UML IDEs (tho all respect to Mr Jacobson, Booch and Rumbaugh).

Now to challenge I experience - the "Java Model Reverse Engineering" doesn't kinda work for me !!! I installed clean eclipse version (V2.1.2 B: 0802), demo version of Eclipse UML Plugin Enterprise Edition (V0.8.5 B: 20040227). then created clean project, couple of classes and methods (typical FooBar/HalloWorld application), then I click on project and in pop-up context menu select UML->Reverse engineering and then 'ok'... nothing happens (it shows progress and says at the end 'Java Model Reverse Engineering succeeded', but there are no UML diagrams whatsoever).

One more thing, what the heck does 'Use the bytecode reverse engineering engine' means? Does this engine traverses .class files of my project ????

And to make my message extra long, I reversed couple of methods into sequence diagrams - IT WORKS SUUUUUUPERB !!!!!!!
But why does the changes to sequence diagram don't get forwarded to code or following changes to code don't get updated into sequence diag?

Phew, to summ-up, I want to say - keep on dudes, your project gonna push others out of the eclipse world (but hurry up, they're preparing for counter strike)

kind regards
fahman_dude.
Back to top
julien



Joined: 16 Mar 2003
Posts: 126

Posted: Tue Mar 02, 2004 8:03 pm    Post subject: Re: Java Model Reverse Engineering

fahman_dude wrote:
Hi, first of all - your project just KICKS ASSS!!!! And I don't mean any conventional ass, rather I mean ass of guys like Rational or, with the latest features, Borland and their UML IDEs (tho all respect to Mr Jacobson, Booch and Rumbaugh).

Now to challenge I experience - the "Java Model Reverse Engineering" doesn't kinda work for me !!! I installed clean eclipse version (V2.1.2 B: 0802), demo version of Eclipse UML Plugin Enterprise Edition (V0.8.5 B: 20040227). then created clean project, couple of classes and methods (typical FooBar/HalloWorld application), then I click on project and in pop-up context menu select UML->Reverse engineering and then 'ok'... nothing happens (it shows progress and says at the end 'Java Model Reverse Engineering succeeded', but there are no UML diagrams whatsoever).


The purpose of reverse Engineering it to capture UML Model from Java language and store them in java source as annotation. It is not to create a diagram. But they are used to create the diagram later. So the behavior is expected. You will get surprised when you right click one package in package explorer and select contexte menu "UML"->"Open Class diagram editor".

Quote:
One more thing, what the heck does 'Use the bytecode reverse engineering engine' means? Does this engine traverses .class files of my project ????


Yes, the engine read the byte code to create the sequence diagram.

Quote:
And to make my message extra long, I reversed couple of methods into sequence diagrams - IT WORKS SUUUUUUPERB !!!!!!!
But why does the changes to sequence diagram don't get forwarded to code or following changes to code don't get updated into sequence diag?

Phew, to summ-up, I want to say - keep on dudes, your project gonna push others out of the eclipse world (but hurry up, they're preparing for counter strike)


I don't think so. We have 100 000 registered users. and it increases constantly.

julien
omondo
Back to top
davidbaer



Joined: 16 Mar 2004
Posts: 1

Posted: Tue Mar 16, 2004 3:25 pm    Post subject: Re: Java Model Reverse Engineering

julien wrote:

The purpose of reverse Engineering it to capture UML Model from Java language and store them in java source as annotation. It is not to create a diagram. But they are used to create the diagram later. So the behavior is expected. You will get surprised when you right click one package in package explorer and select contexte menu "UML"->"Open Class diagram editor".

This is nice. How can I have several packages in the same view?
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
       forum-omondo.com Forum Index -> Eclipse Support All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2.0.4 © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group